notobacco

Buying Tobacco

In Local News on March 12, 2009 at 7:40 am

The past few days, I have been buying some examples of designer tobacco products to create an educational display when I have booths at fairs and such. I’m trying to educate parents and teachers about what these products look like because they definitely look and smell like candy, not like the dangerous products they are. (See yesterday’s post.) I found some Marlboro snus in Washington but hadn’t been able to find any of the refrigerated Camel snus in town.

Last night, my husband and I were in Vincennes, and he stopped at Hucks to fill up the car. I decided to go inside and look at the tobacco selection while he was filling up. They did have the Camel snus, so I decided to buy a tin for my display. The clerk handed me the tin and said, “Birthday?”

“No, it’s for a project I’m working on,” I replied.

He looked at me funny and asked again, “Birthday?”

“Ooohhhh,” I said, and gave him my date of birth.

Now, I always get nervous when I buy tobacco for projects like this because I don’t want the clerk to think I’m actually going to use it, especially when I’m buying smokeless tobacco. (Yuck!) So I wasn’t thinking clearly when I was wondering why the clerk thought I would buy snus for my birthday. At least I was laughing at myself as I came out of the store.

My husband laughed pretty hard when I told him why I was laughing at myself … and now I’m going to be the joke of the day at his workplace. I don’t mind. It’s all for a good cause.

Leave a Reply

